Meet the President – Kellen Epstein

Kellen Epstein is a Senior Major Gifts Officer at the University of Michigan’s Ford School of Public Policy. Prior to the Ford School, she spent 7.5 years in the Office of External Relations at the MIT Sloan School of Management, and in a number of different roles at the Office of Development & Alumni Relations at Boston University. Kellen began her Development career at the University of Michigan, as a part of the School’s inaugural Development Summer Internship Program, and received her MBA from Boston University’s Questrom School of Business. Kellen and her husband Mike are the parents of 2 year old Addison and rescue pup, Lyla.


Past Presidents of Women in Development of Greater Boston

“In the summer of 1980, nine women who worked in development positions in colleges and universities in the Boston area met to consider holding occasional informal meetings with their peers. It was a casual meeting, and discussion centered on identifying the issues facing the growing number of women in fundraising. There was no clear focus, but the need for support from other women in a field then dominated by men was evident.” Excerpt from “Women in Development of Greater Boston: The evolution of an organization” by Phyllis Fanger. Women as Fundraisers: Their experience in and Influence on an Emerging Profession. Indian University Center on Philanthropy. Number 19, Spring 1998. From these modest beginnings arose the amazing organization we now know as Women in Development of Greater Boston. In celebration of our 35th anniversary in 2015, we salute our leadership, including founding president, Phyllis Fanger.

President Term President Term
Phyllis Fanger 1982-1984 Janet Miner 2000-2002
Ann Caldwell 1984-1986 Kristine C. Laping 2002-2004
Susan Galler 1986-1988 Betsy Kamborian 2004-2006
Lola Baldwin 1988-1990 Ilisa Hurowitz 2006-2008
Susan Paresky 1990-1992 Terri (Hootstein) Grogan 2008-2010
Catherine Conover 1992-1994 Usha Pasi 2010-2012
Carol Bonnar, CFRE 1994-1996 Megan Panek 2012-2013
Mary Jane McGlennon 1996-1998 Heather Kispert Hagerty 2013-2015
Catherine Baer 1998-1999 Meghan Seidman 2015-2017
Anne Cowie 1999-2000 Andrea Finnerty 2017-2019